The Six Realms Of Buddhism Symbolized With Shipwrecks And Oceans Inside Whale Bodies By Japanese Artist

samsara 6

Miniature worlds are captured in clear resin shaped like whales by a Japanese artist named Isana Yamada. Titled, Samsara, the six whale project represents the six realms in Buddhist cosmology: the Heaveny Realm, the Asura, the Animal Realm, Hell, the Ghost Realm, and the Human Realm. Samsara is Sanskrit for the cycle of death and rebirth.

samsara 4

The project by Yamada is supposed to serve as his graduation project for his master’s degree in design. From March 1st through 6th, the project will be on display at the Tokyo University of the Arts, and the Artcomplex Center of Tokyo.¬†Each whale contains something different, symbolizing the different realms.

samsara 5

samsara 2

samsara 7

samsara 3

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *